Former_Member
Not applicable

Unable to send messages

Hi all, I am brand new to Etsy and am unable to message both my buyers and sellers I bought from. I have contacted Etsy several times (via chat and email) but can't get a response. I've tried different browsers, cleared cookies, etc. Any tips? Thanks!

Labels (1)
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
17 Replies
NanaLetha
Community Maker

Re: Unable to send messages

When you send too many messages in a short period of time, Etsy disables your message capability because it looks like you are spamming. 

1 Like
Former_Member
Not applicable

I've never sent a message.

0 Likes
OneEyeCatStudio
Conversation Maker

If you send out a flood of messages, Etsy has no way of knowing if you are answering help requests or sending spam.

The minimum ban is for 7 days, I think? They used to tell you by email.

You can contact Etsy and explain, and they might remove it.  But usually they won't remove it until your banned period is up.

0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

That's helpful. I'm frustrated b/c I've never even sent a message.

0 Likes
OneEyeCatStudio
Conversation Maker

If you've never sent a message then I would certainly contact Etsy.

1 Like

@Former_Member: What error message are you getting?

If you are getting the "Bummer, your messages have been temporarily disabled" advisory and not to discount the fact that your messaging may have been disabled in error, generally it is because the system has detected that your account has been sending unsolicited non-transactional messages. While you are waiting for Etsy to reactivate your messaging you may want to read the "Dos and Don'ts of Communicating With Customers" https://www.etsy.com/seller-handbook/article/26590492608

There does not appear to be a published time for how long messaging is muted and based on posts in this forum it can vary.