Botanicastle
Inspiration Seeker

To all plant sellers deprived by new policy

Hello everyone;

Concerning the new plant selling policy to the united states and the faulty restrictions that get thrown upon us. 

Has anyone had their issue escalated, looked at by the etsy team with the outcome that they can no longer sell to the united states? Or do all shops eventually get fixed?

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
1 Like
41 Replies

Re: To all plant sellers deprived by new policy

I'm not an expert but hasn't importing live plants into the US always been subject to restrictions? Is this something new or something that Etsy is now enforcing?

Your plants look really nice - and I love plants but buying outside of US seems like a risky thing to do - because of customs, etc. I don't even buy tulip bulbs when I'm in the Amsterdam airport. One of the questions asked when entering the USA is do you have any plants or food purchased outside the country and who knows what will happen if one says yes.

15 Likes
Botanicastle
Inspiration Seeker

Thank you! Ive shipped many orders to the us, and almost all of them arrived in great condition 

0 Likes

@Botanicastle - There have always been many government restrictions regarding the importation of plant seeds, plants & plant materials into the USA. You can do a google search to find out was the regulations are & what is required.

As for Etsy's current deactivation of listings &/or the limitations placed on listings - where they can be seen in search results, etc. - this is something new. The reasons as to why Etsy is doing this is not clear. But they do have a reason.

What Etsy will eventually do remains to be seen. When Etsy will correct any wrongly deactivated listings will take time. Shop owners will need to be very patient.