TheVineArtShop
Inspiration Seeker

Etsy deactivated my handmade listing

I've been selling this item for the past 2 years and it's been a best seller. Etsy deactivated because they say it was not handmade but I hand make all my items.

I'm not sure if someone reported it to be malicious or if it was deactivated because I recently opened a tik tok shop and sell only this item on there. I opened it for more views and sales for my etsy shop. Regardless, the email I received was because it was not handmade. I reached out via Etsy chats and they said someone would email me to look further into this issue. If anyone here has more insight it would be very much appreciated. 

Labels (3)
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
2 Likes
16 Replies

Re: Etsy deactivated my handmade listing

Seems to be happening all over the site at the moment, bots are incorrectly removing handmade listings! 

6 Likes

@TheVineArtShop: It is possible that the listing on your TikTok shop made some bot think you are reselling that item on Etsy - particularly if you are using the same images on both platforms.

0 Likes
TheVineArtShop
Inspiration Seeker

Is there a way for Etsy to reverse this if it was a bot that incorrectly deactivated the listing?

0 Likes
dorothydomingo
Conversation Maker

@BagmakerSupplyMost of us who post on TikTok and other social media sites use the same images. It's how you build brand awareness. Surely there has to be another factor involved?

1 Like

@dorothydomingo:"Surely there has to be another factor involved?" A part of any sellers' problem is that we just don't know - we can infer some trigger words (i.e. amber, ivory) from other posts, we can make best guess on other problematic terms but we don't really know for sure. Does Etsy troll other sites looking for resellers? Is image matching used? We can only speculate.

0 Likes
dorothydomingo
Conversation Maker