allyandb
Registered Buyer

Timing for holiday items

Hi!

I recently started selling infant and toddler bodysuits/shirts with my designs on them. I want to add seasonal ones, and have already started for Mother's Day and Father's Day, but since I'm new to this, I'm wondering what my goal should be for getting winter/holiday/Thanksgiving/Christmas designs made and listed in my shop. I don't want to miss my opportunity if I wait too long!

Thanks!!

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
12 Replies

Re: Timing for holiday items

I have sold holiday themed jewelry as early as Christmas in July, so I'd get crackin' now. It seems crazy, but start working on them, at least, and then when you feel like you're ready to list, go nuts. I'd give it at least two or three months lead time into the holiday.
0 Likes
allyandb
Registered Buyer

Thanks Erin!!

It does seem crazy but I believe you! Especially since it will take time to make them and list them! :)
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

3 months before the holiday is what I shoot for. 2 months is usually more accurate. I'm horrible at getting ahead enough. I do keep all my items up all year long so 3 month is for new holiday-themed items.
0 Likes
SpangGangDesigns
Inspiration Seeker

My Christmas season (for gifts) starts in October. I agree 2-3 months is sufficient. Keep in mind the expiration times. If you have to relist everything a couple of weeks before Christmas, it may not work out as well. If you list an item with time to get through the holiday season + a little after, I think it'd be best.
0 Likes
allyandb
Registered Buyer

Thanks for the advice ladies!
0 Likes

I keep my items in my shop(renewed) all year long. People purchase holiday items year-round.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable