Intellectual property infringement

I have seen many cross stitch pattern shops that sell patterns based on trademarked figures and copyrighted artwork. These patterns clog up generic searches and negatively affect the visibility of shops that sell original patterns.

This thread is intended to collect information about trademark and copyright rules, public domain, commercial liscenses etc. etc. as well as to outline what our rights as sellers are in terms of the original patterns we make. What kind of copyright we have on our patterns? How can we take action if someone infringes on our copyright?

I am not an IP lawyer, or any lawyer for that matter, but if anyone has reliable sources of information on these topics please post them here!
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
5 Replies
Former_Member
Not applicable

Re: Intellectual property infringement

Copyright vs. Trade

I did a little reading on copyrights and trademarks and here are the basics:

COPYRIGHT:
- The purpose of a copyright is to protect an original creative finished piece of art work (such as a song, a book, a painting, a photograph, etc.).
- A copyright’s is in effect for the life of the author or creator plus 70 years after which it becomes public domain. (This year works from authors who died before 1945 are now public domain)
- A creative work does not need to be officially registered to be copywritten, but without being registered it is difficult to make a case in court if someone else steals your work.

TRADEMARK
- The purpose of a trademark is to protect a name, phrase, symbol, logo, etc.
- A trademark is in effect as long as the owner renews the trademark every 10 years. If the trademark is allowed to expire it becomes public domain.
- A logo, name, etc. does not need to be officially registered to be trademarked, but without being registered it is difficult to make a case in court if someone else steals it.