Former_Member
Not applicable

First Sales

Like a couple of others on our team, I am new to selling on Etsy. How long did it take for seasoned sellers to make their first sale? Love to hear from you!
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
267 Replies

Re: First Sales

I'm new to selling on Etsy too, so I'd be interested to hear how long it took others to start getting regular sales (and how they did it - e.g adding more items, advertising, joining teams, etc.). I recently got my first sale, a month after listing my first items.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

I've had my shop open a month and no one has yet bought anything. I still keeps making and adding items though, I too would like to know how long it takes to roughly start making some sales :)
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

Hi all,

I opened my shop on the 23rd of January this year. I've been listing my vintage goodies like crazy, and have now over 140 items listed with plenty more to go. I made my first (and so far only) sale on the 12th this month.
I looked at some other Australian sellers that sell vintage goods, and they seem to be doing ok. It does seem to be quiet at the moment though. I also have an eBay store, and that is the quietest its been for a year.
Still, we push on, and I'll be ready when the customers are ready to buy:o)
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

We only took a few weeks to get a sale in both our photography shop and our typography shop... but I had a store here years ago in the jewelry section and it took months to get noticed let alone get a sale ;)

It's really just a matter of focusing on getting your store cohesive, market your items to your target market, and making sure you've got a business plan in place so you know whether you're hitting all the marks you want to hit.

You'll see a lot of posts with different answers to the question "how to get sales", but the obvious points are: