I keep hearing different things. As an Etsy Shop owner in UT are we required to have a business license?

Some of have told me that you only need one if you make a certain amount of money, but others have said everyone needs one?

Does anyone know what the rules really are?

BobbinInQuilts
Inspiration Seeker

Re: UT business license?

I would get a business license just to be safe. In North Salt Lake it is only $20 a year. You don't need a business plan unless you are starting a corporation. I am a sole proprietor so I just registered with the state, and pay taxes and have a city business license. It wasn't that hard and I feel good about all of it.
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes

I'm just starting out and am a sole proprietorship. I don't want to use my home address as my business location/address for privacy concerns. Does anyone have experience using a UPS mailbox as their official business address/location with the state and city (or in my case county)?
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

Jessica B.

The state requires you to register a physical location for your business and, in mot of our cases, this is your home address. Unfortunately you cannot us a PO box. I also had to use my cell phone for my business number since I do not have a home phone/land line. I haven't ever had anyone mail me or anything though. When I registered my business, I registered it as a website or online store, or something like that.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

Does anyone know the cost of legalzoom?
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

Ok. So legalzoom is around $200. Is that normal? What should I expect to pay if I do it on my own?
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

So much info! As far as I was concerned, I didn't make nearly enough to call it a business! I just considered it a hobby. But I do want to start selling at craft fairs. So people with craft fair experience, do they ask for your business license info?
0 Likes