Eco Friendly Shipping / Packaging Methods?

Hi everyone! I'm new to this team, and happy to be here!

I've been struggling to find a shipping method and packaging that has the smallest environmental impact (though of course shipping always has some impact), and wondered if this team had ideas.

Initially I was mailing in letter or card-sized envelopes (along with a card and printed receipt). About a month or more ago I switched entirely to bubble mailers since I was reading horror stories about how post offices and shippers handle letters and cards (they go through a machine, I'm told, and so anything inside may be damaged or the packaging torn).

I was reusing bubble mailer packaging until I ran out, and then I read that some shoppers are really turned off by that (and leave negative feedback about it). I still hope to reuse packaging as much as I'm able, and I think adding something about it to my profile and shipping methods info will help with that.

I've also decided to stop sending paper receipts, but I'm still wondering if there are better ways to reduce packaging materials (SO MUCH PLASTIC!!!! :( ) and provide shipping with as little impact as possible.

How do you manage this?
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
17 Replies
Cobbleandthread
Inspiration Seeker

Re: Eco Friendly Shipping / Packaging Methods?

I create shipping packages out of the woven plastic dog food bags. I clean them thoroughly, dry them, then cut them to the size I need. I stitch a recycled piece of paper (for the label and then stitch up the sides (white side out), leaving enough at the top, to fold over. For cushioning, I have a trunk full of white craft paper (from two christmas's ago, when I received a new bee hive). And viola, a 100% post consumer recycled, unique and water resistant package, that's the perfect size for anything that I create :-)
Hope this helps!
0 Likes
Cobbleandthread
Inspiration Seeker