Former_Member
Not applicable

Discs: to buy or cut?

Hello all! I'm new to the team which was recommended for me to join in search of an answer to this question: Should I shell out the money to buy a disc cutter for my stamped jewelry business?

I have been buying sterling silver discs from one vendor who has decently low pricing. But with the price of silver going up, I've been looking at options to keep my costs down. Which brings me to the Swanstrom Disc Cutter (retails $265)...because if you're going to do it, you may as well do it right, right? :)

The thing is, there doesn't seem to be a huge savings to cut your own sterling silver discs except that (as I've been told) you can salvage more pieces. It looks like it may save money as I venture into other metals such as copper.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance!
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
14 Replies
Former_Member
Not applicable

Re: Discs: to buy or cut?

You can get a Pepe disc cutter for about 100$ less, and it's still awesome. It's cheaper to make your own because you pay less for sheet than finished discs, and you can recycle your scrap.
0 Likes
halfmoonroad
Inspiration Seeker

I've heard good things about the Pepe....just bought one myself.

One of the advantages of cutting your own discs is you can cut different sizes as you need them.
0 Likes

No amount of advice will replace a little cost analysis. Get the price of a sheet of silver in the gauge that you normally use (pick a size like 2"x6"). Figure out how many disks you can cut from that sheet, keeping in mind that you need a little space between the disks. Now, figure out how much it will cost you to purchase that same number of disks pre-cut. Calculate the difference between the pre-cut disks and the sterling sheet. Divide $265 by that number and you can figure out your break-even point, the point at which you've saved enough money by cutting your own disks to have paid for the cutter.