Asylove
Post Crafter

Policy Issue - Suspend and Holiday Mode.

I have been producing Mosaic Turkish lamps for 35 years. I am one of the last representatives of the traditional Mosaic Turkish lamp craft.
I have been selling on Etsy for about 5 years.

My store was put on holiday mode due to the reason that it is not handmade. and my store is about to be closed. The question I want to ask is: How to produce Mosaic Turkish lamps without being handmade? Can someone explain to me exactly the concept of Handmade product?

It is impossible to produce mosaic Turkish lamps without making them by hand.

My purpose of selling on Etsy is to raise new artist students. I cannot afford the expenses of the art students I currently educate. It pains me greatly to give hope to the students I invite to classes.

This situation really makes me sad. Financial problems may occur to keep an art form alive. But isn't the purpose of Etsy established to support art and artists?

Is there anyone who can help me with this?

Kind Regards

Numan

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
1 Like
14 Replies
BootifulLabels
Conversation Maker

Re: Policy Issue - Suspend and Holiday Mode.

Handmade on Etsy means items that are handmade BY YOU, or at the very least designed BY YOU and manufactured with the aid of a Production Partner who makes the items to your original design and ONLY FOR YOU.  You cannot sell items as Handmade which were made by other people, and you cannot sell items as handmade which you buy from a factory or workshop which sells the same items to others.

5 Likes
Asylove
Post Crafter

This is the point where I feel sad the most. I produce it in my own workshop. I do not purchase the products in any way. Turkish Lamps are custom made for each order. There are thousands of models, it is impossible to stock

0 Likes