PinkyBrainStore
Inspiration Seeker

Etsy no collecting provincial taxes in Canada

Hi!

This is the first time I post here and I am new to Etsy. Hi everyone! I am located in Canada and as you all know since July 2022 Etsy started collecting provincial taxes, for instance in British Columbia we have PST. The orders I have after that date were collected properly, but for the last two orders, I had (one from BC and another from Ontario) Etsy didn't collect taxes (0 taxes). I have contacted the support team and they don't know what happened and still waiting for a solution (it is being weeks now). Has anyone else experienced that? I am a bit worried as I don't want to have any issues with taxes and I am afraid that if I have more orders coming from Canada taxes won't be collected and then who is gonna pay for them? 

Thank you so much for your help!

Labels (2)
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
2 Likes
12 Replies

Re: Etsy no collecting provincial taxes in Canada

I had a Canadian sale a couple of weeks ago where the sales tax collected was marked as $0.00 in my finances. Then the next Canadian sale went through as normal. I am thinking it is just the odd glitch on Etsy's part. If it is just for the occasional one, I would not worry too much about it. Canada Revenue can take it up with Etsy but we may see an amount taken out of our account in the future.

0 Likes

Someone else had mentioned the same problem to me.  That is, taxes had been charged on Canadian orders but then the seller had two orders where no tax was charged.  @cindylouwho2  more Canadian tax issues.

1 Like

@PinkyBrainStore  I'm in BC.  I just checked your shop and I was charged no tax.  @MartiqueTreasures   In your shop I was charged 12% which is correct, assuming that you aren't GST/HST registered.

0 Likes
PinkyBrainStore
Inspiration Seeker