luola
Crafty Poster

Can anyone help me understand Etsy shipping estimates?

I have been selling on Etsy for almost 13 years and in the last month or so I've noticed that even if I ship an item an hour after it's purchased (printing my shipping label through Etsy), Etsy sometimes indicates that the item may be "late" if I choose to ship it Ground rather than Priority, and this is with the buyer paying for Ground. Why on earth is this happening? My "processing times" are 1-3 days if that makes a difference.

Thanks!!

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
3 Likes
16 Replies

Re: Can anyone help me understand Etsy shipping estimates?

Information from USPS may indicate that there is an issue with the destination.  It could be weather or something else.  I've gotten that and surprisingly most of the packages arrive on time. 

I always ship prior to my last day of shipping to give a bit more time to travel.

0 Likes
luola
Crafty Poster

I don't think this is what's happening at all, but thanks for weighing in.

2 Likes
luola
Crafty Poster

The "delay" is only indicated when I choose Ground, which is what's been paid for, not for Priority mail.

It really makes no sense.

2 Likes

@luola  - You might want to think of that little pop-up as the annoying cousin to the one that comes up when you enter a shipping cost & Etsy says it's too much. Even when you're using calculated shipping! lol

2 Likes
luola
Crafty Poster

It might be simply annoying if it didn't effect customer expectations...and it does, as Etsy's language is: "may arrive late, as the customer expects...(insert arrival window)".

Once again, it's baffling. I can't imagine what the explanation is.

2 Likes

I added your Chunky Vintage Ice Glass Candle Holder to my cart.

On the listing & the check-out page I am shown a cost of $13.47 for shipping.

What is now really Ground Advantage (but Etsy still shows as Parcel Select) the Estimated Delivery Dates are December 27-29th.