Former_Member
Not applicable

Tips on photographing metal~

Anyone have any good little tips or tricks they use when photographing metal? My favorite place is outdoors but this is not always convenient with what Mother Nature is doing. I have a photo cube and lighting but it doesn't always like to cooperate with me!
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
8 Replies

Re: Tips on photographing metal~

WOW! Were you like, reading my mind? This was going to be the next discussion I was going to post as I figured it would be good to offer some ideas as this can be very challenging or at the very least time consuming trying to get the right setup & settings to photograph shiny jewelry.

My background is carving personalized rings (mynamering.com) and I have spent many, many hours over the years not to mention the cost of film and photo processing trying to photograph my rings (OK, a give away that I’m not a real young guy.) The difficulty is trying to get plenty of light without washing out the jewelry. The other big obstacle is minimizing reflection so you can read the lettering. The problem with that is it can get to a point where the piece looks dull.

So from my experience the best advice I can give is get a good camera, not necessarily expensive just well suited to your needs of taking close-up shoots (macro mode.) I recently bought a Canon SD1400IS, it does an incredible job of automatically going into macro mode and adjusting for lighting, pretty much takes all of the work out of the task. I took the top mount from a miniature tripod which I then fastened to a 1x6 board with a short piece of all-thread to secure the camera. Here is what works for me:

1. Disable the flash and take picture indoors without any artificial lighting or direct sunlight.
2. Set the camera to a 2 second delay so that there is no “jiggle” from pushing the shutter button.