Former_Member
Not applicable

Help turn views and favs into sales

I have been selling photos and note cards for a few years. I find I have more luck at live shows. What advice can you give me?
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
3 Replies

Re: Help turn views and favs into sales

Hi Alison,

At a live show, people wander past your table or booth and see your lovely photos, and are drawn in. There's not really a great equivalent here, so you have to put in a specific kind of labour to get eyes on your photography. The vast majority of views and sales come from Etsy's search function, and the way you get found in search is through your titles and your tags. Therefore, you need to think about what you might type into the search engine if you wanted to find an item like what you're offering.

Most people will start off with a fairly broad search, like "wall art" or "home decor", get a million different styles, and then start to narrow down their search. Maybe they would search for "rustic cottage art" or "housewarming gift wall art" or "old barn photograph". Some will be searching for a specific size, so they might say "8X10 photograph yellow flower" - those people may be rare, but they're also going to find a very small number of results, which means they're more likely to look at and buy your stuff. It's good to use a variety of broad search phrases and very specific search phrases. Ideally, the most relevant or important phrases should appear in both your title and your tags.

Get rid of all the single word tags, replace them with good search phrases, and then monitor your search statistics. Some phrases will perform better than others, and you can tweak over time (slowly, a bit at a time) to see what works best.
0 Likes

Hi Alison,