Former_Member
Not applicable

CPSIA testing - making it affordable for you

Hi All,

My name is Kristie and I am a chemist. All this uproar about the CPSIA and how expensive it is to get testing done has lead me to open my own lab - one that makes it affordable to handcrafter! I am in the beginning stages of opening, and it will be a few months before I am accredited for lead and phthalate testing.

However, I would like input from the Etsy community on how to make the testing fit into your budget. Having several friends who are handcrafters and have sites on Etsy, it deeply saddens me to see Etsy shops closing due to CPSIA compliance testing. My goal is to help YOU. Also note that a portion of my profits will be donated to a children's charity (although I have not decided which one yet).

What services would you like to see from my lab? How can I make this affordable to you? Are you even interested in such a lab?

Please give me some honest feedback. Thanks!
Kristie Armstrong, Ph.D.
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
40 Replies
Former_Member
Not applicable

Re: CPSIA testing - making it affordable for you

Your lab must be APPROVED officially by CPSC or your testing is not acceptable for compliance with CPSIA. The law very specifically states that testing must be done by an "Approved Third Party Lab". CPSC has a list of labs that only may be used.

So your idea is great, but unless you get that government approval under this law, it your testing will not be accepted.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

I would love to have affordable testing, especially since my items are in the grey area of products. Here's a link to the CPSIA with what would you need to get accreditation from the CPSC along with the testing procedures that are acceptable to to the government
http://www.cpsc.gov/about/cpsia/labaccred.html .

Here's the links for the types of testing I would need for my products