Former_Member
Not applicable

Oh the Shipping Woes - How to reduce shipping costs?

Hello fellow Etsians,

I am a Canadian Etsian, and I'm wondering if other Canadians here are having trouble with high shipping costs. Perhaps our American brothers n' sister are having similar problems?

I make beeswax candles. As it is, my single items range from 7$ (cnd) to 12$ (cnd). Because of the size of the candles, although they do not weigh very much, I have no choice but to ship them in bubble mailers. And the absolute cheapest I can mail a bubble mailer for, even to say someone in my same city, is 11.83$ (cnd).

This is terrible, because who wants to buy a 7$, 10$ or 12$ pair of candles and pay the same if not more in shipping costs??

I'm no expert on online selling. Perhaps ridiculously high shipping costs are just part of shopping online and I shouldn't worry about this hurting my sales?
But my gut feeling is that a large part of my '0 sales' record (sniff) is my intimidating shipping prices.

My temporary solution has been to offer 'half-price shipping' but this sale has been on almost a month, and no takers yet. So I definitely feel that this is not a permanent solution to the problem.

Now, I could eat half the shipping costs myself, and thereby get only half the amount for my items. Or (I'm hoping!) am I missing out on some great way to reduce overall shipping costs and past these savings on to my customers?

Do Etsians in the States face similarly high shipping costs? Or this a challenge unique to us canucks?

Thanks for any and all feedback!!

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
23 Replies

Re: Oh the Shipping Woes - How to reduce shipping costs?

Wow, that does seem unreasonably high.. is the high rate due to the weight of your candles?
0 Likes
VeraidaGifts
Inspiration Seeker

Can you mail your candles in recycled envelopes, I do it sometimes.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable