Have any other experienced sellers experienced decreased sales and views this holiday season?

I've been selling on Etsy for almost 4 years and (obviously) the holiday season is always the busiest time of the year for me. However, in comparing my stats to years past, my sales and views have gone down dramatically. This has been the worst Christmas season ever for me. I even made more in the first year my shop was open than this year. Here are some numbers:
In 2014, I had over 12,500 views and $5,300 in sales between November 1st and December 19th.
In 2015, I had 7,100 views and $3,250 in sales between November 1st and December 19th, despite the fact that I held a larger holiday sale this year.

I'm thinking it could only be some combination of the following things:
1. My items are going out of style
2. I am facing more competition from other shops selling similar products (I don't think this has changed much in a year, though)
3. I have not released many new designs over the past year (my own fault, I know)
4. In general, sales and views on Etsy are going down. This could be due to other competing platforms or a general customer distaste for Etsy now allowing shops to outsource (I heartily share this distaste).

Has anyone else experienced decreased sales this year? Have you successfully implemented anything to combat this? Has anyone else experienced success on other platforms? I know I'm not the only one who makes the majority of their income selling handmade products online and I'm wondering if I'm one of the only ones who took a hit this season or if this is a site-wide epidemic. Please share your experience.
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
8 Replies

Re: Have any other experienced sellers experienced decreased sales and views this holiday season?