Any advice on how to stand out in a saturated market?

Hi Everyone,

Im hoping to get some tips/feedback..i have been making feather fascinators since 2009 on Etsy, im located in Sydney, Australia.
I am always browsing other stores on Etsy that create the same items that i do, and everyone seems to be selling way more than me and i'm at a loss as to how this is happening?? I love to do what i do and i don't want to stop just because the sales aren't going off the chart, though im REALLY wanting to turn this into a full time business..does anyone have any tips? Im finding it hard when everyone in the same category is either selling things super cheaply or really expensive and still selling more..Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
11 Replies
Former_Member
Not applicable

Re: Any advice on how to stand out in a saturated market?

I think it is normal really cheap ones sell more. But at the end they make less than you. I have seen your shop it is lovely but you are mostly on weddings maybe you can try to adapt your styles into parties or like themed events. Like this you can have more chance to catch different costumers.
This is my idea, wish you the best.
0 Likes

build your market outside of etsy. what makes your work special and different? blog about it. comment on other blogs. add photos of your work to flickr, especially of you making them or in the studio and then link across these things. maybe write a lens on squiddo, find things of feathery interest on tumblr and post them, do a fashion article about how to wear a fascinator and who would look great in them. brainstorm ways to build your audience and then do it. the people who are succeeding here are doing many of these types of things but you may not see that part of their business. google them. see where else they are. see what else they do.