Former_Member
Not applicable

Hello and Printing Advice

I wanted to just introduce myself a little bit - newbie here (to Etsy and this group anyway). I have been designing for both "the man" and as a freelancer for several years and prior to that studied art and design in college. I was rather spoiled in my last job in that it was a print house so I never really had to broker out printing and most of my freelance work has been web based. In my new store I am looking to offer both print and web designs. I have seen sellers offer their designs as downloads for the buyer to have printed as well as offer both the design and printing, and also sellers that have a combination of the two. I am attracted to this last option.

I would like to know what printers you use or would recommend. I am mostly looking online as I've had good experiences. I like smartpress and really I've had good results from Vistaprint. I think I could also have a higher profit from Vistaprint as a reseller. Anyone else use them?

Most of the local printers I've found around me focus on long runs which I don't anticipate getting many of - at least not at first. Maybe I just need to do more searching but I think for the money the online printers will be best for short runs. Any thoughts on this from those with more experience?

Thanks!!!
Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
3 Replies

Re: Hello and Printing Advice

I also worked for "the man" and ALWAYS sent my designs out to VistaPrint, it was good quality work and really affordable. The only drawback is the 2 weeks it takes to actually get them in the mail. At my local pritner, I can get my prints in 2 days.

I personally ONLY offer printable downloads to customers. I have noticed that there are mostly just 2 types of etsy sellers in this category, the ones who sell digital files, and the ones who sell you the printed package.