Former_Member
Not applicable

Jewelry photography

Hello everyone!
I'm in desperate need of improving my jewelry photographs. The pictures I take always turn out very dark and colors are not vivid. (The lighting for the ones currently in my shops have been edited by photoshop to look brighter which is very time consuming).
I take them on a table beside a window at daylight but they're too dark still. I use a regular digital camera OR a macro lens DSLR camera, but I know zero about photography so adjusting the options always make things worse.

That being said, i'm wondering if buying 2 huge daylight bulb photography lamps would solve this lighting problem?
I would prefer not having to adjust the camera settings too much (unless it's very straight forward) as I'm really not an expert.

Any other suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
12 Replies
Former_Member
Not applicable

Re: Jewelry photography

Would any of these products be recommended?
http://store.tabletopstudio-store.com/lightsets.html

Thanks
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

Check the Lighting, Natural & Studio discussion right below your posting. There are all kinds of information there.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

I took my jewelry photos using a DIY light box and two work lights I bought at Home Depot for 7 bucks a piece. Also, you can go to YouTube and find tons of videos on photographing jewelry there, with all kinds of great tips on everything, including equipment.

I hope this helps.
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable

I just started reading this article posted at the Lighting, Natural & Studio discussion on this team and I love it.

http://www.graphic-design.com/photographic/studio/diffusion.html

ps: I hope I'm not 'overposting' here.
0 Likes

Sandra what a great link.. I could spend days there learning!! Thank you soo much!!
0 Likes
Former_Member
Not applicable