SQUARE OR PAYPAL

I have a Christmas Market in December. I have lost several sales in past years because I was not able to take card payments, so I am finally going to take the plunge. I had gathered some information on Square, but I think it is now obsolete.

I would like to ask Team members if you would have an opinion on which would be best to have. I do not have any experience. Up to now I have been using a plain cell phone - no bells and whistles. I would really appreciate your input.

Translate to English There was a problem fetching the translation.
0 Likes
25 Replies

Re: SQUARE OR PAYPAL

I have been using Square for 3 years, and have no complaints. I have not tried any other card reader. You will need a "smart phone" with 4G capability. Or a wifi tablet.
0 Likes

Thank you so much Bill.
0 Likes

Some of this response will apply to your question and other sections will not. Please pick out the bits and pieces that will help you with your specific situation and ignore the rest.

Before we had the Square CHIP credit card reader, we never had an issue with the Square NON-chip credit card reader. The new Square chip credit card reader needs to be charged; therefore, we needed to purchase two just in case one runs out of juice during a sale. One of the Square chip credit card readers lasted for much less than 50 charges before it would not take a charge any more. I emailed the company (they have a customer support phone number I could have called as well), they got back to me in less than 24 hours and resent another chip credit card reader immediately. We had it in our hands in less than 7 days of my email.